Driving is not a constitutional right. Rather, it is a privilege given to those who earned a driver’s license.
Licensed motorists must follow the rules of the road. Breaking these rules can not only lead to fines and demerit points, but also driver’s license suspension.
The following are several ways the DMV can suspend your Virginia driver’s license:
- DMV demerit points – When you become a licensed driver in Virginia, you start off with 0 points on your license. If you avoid being involved in a car accident or getting a traffic ticket, the DMV adds one point to your record each year (up to five points a year). However, if you commit a traffic violation or vehicle-related crime, the DMV will deduct three or more points on your license. If at least 12 points were deducted in one year or 18 points in two years, you are required to enroll in a driving course. If at least 18 points were deducted in one year or 24 points in two years, your driver’s license will automatically be suspended for up to six months.
- DUI charges – A first offense for driving under the influence in Virginia is a Class 1 misdemeanor, punishable by a jail sentence of up to one year and a maximum $2,500. In addition, a conviction will result in driver’s license suspension for twelve months.
- Vehicular felonies – Other automobile-related crimes such as vehicular theft, assault, and manslaughter also result in driver’ license suspension upon conviction. Virginia law requires suspension of driving privileges for vehicular felonies.
- Driving without insurance – Although most states throughout the country require licensed drivers to carry auto insurance, Virginia doesn’t. Instead, state motorists may choose to pay the DMV a $500 Uninsured Motor Vehicle (UMV) annual fee. Failure to purchase insurance or pay the UMV is considered a Class 3 misdemeanor. In addition to paying a fine of up to $500, the state will suspend your license and seize your plates until you acquire insurance or pay the UMV fee.
Without your driver’s license, you can experience significant hardship in life. You could risk being late or absent from your job, classes, and other important appointments.
If you wish to regain your driving privileges after getting your license suspended in Fredericksburg, contact Andrew J. Cornick, Attorney at Law today at (540) 827-4446 and request a free case review.