Any time you are arrested and convicted of driving while under the influence of alcohol and/or drugs, it is a serious legal matter. Virginia courts take a strong hand against drivers that they believe endanger the safety of others. Our state has enacted strict laws that carry serious penalties as well as an administrative license suspension from the Virginia DMV. However, just because you were arrested for this offense does not necessarily mean that you will be convicted. Your choice of legal representation can play a big part in how your case turns out and whether your freedom and future are affected.
I am Andrew J. Cornick, Attorney at Law, and I have defended countless individuals from all walks of life who have suddenly found themselves facing DUI. I know how to deconstruct these often-complex cases to develop arguments that legal and technical errors or inconsistences exist that cast doubt on your guilt. Such favorable evidence can range from a violation of your rights during the traffic stop to how chemical tests were conducted. With my help, your chances of having DUI penalties reduced or eliminated can be increased.
Felony DUI & Its Consequences
In Virginia, a third DUI is charged as a Class VI felony. Because it is a felony, this can become a more complicated legal matter with more serious consequences.
The penalties for a conviction of a third DUI in five years can include:
- One up to five years in prison or
- Up to a year in jail along with a $2,500 fine
- A mandatory minimum jail sentence of six months
- $1,000 mandatory fine with potential for more
- The loss of your driver’s license for an indefinite time period
- A potential denial of a bond resulting in remaining in jail while awaiting the case to be decided
- Forfeiture of your vehicle
- A future going forward as a convicted felon
As a convicted felon, you will lose your right to vote, hold public office, or possess a gun. You will also likely face difficulties finding employment, qualifying for professional licenses or educational aid, or even renting housing.
Getting your license restored will not be an easy matter, either. After three years from the date of your conviction, you can petition the court for a restricted license. Restricted licenses only allow you to drive back and forth to work. You may also petition the court for a restoration of your license after five years. In both cases, you will likely need to have an ignition interlock installed and maintained in your car at your own expense. Getting any kind of license restored will require an evaluation by the court.
Reach Out to Andrew J. Cornick, Attorney at Law
As you can see, a third DUI in five years involves severe consequences. As a former prosecutor and your DUI lawyer, I can use all of the knowledge and skill I have gained over the past sixteen years to help you pursue the best possible result.
Contact my office in Fredericksburg at (540) 827-4446 for help today.