Virginia Underage DUI/DWI Defense Lawyer
Call a Dedicated Fredericksburg DUI Defense Lawyer Now
Has your child been arrested for drunk driving? Because those under the age of 21 are already prohibited from consuming alcohol, the legal standard for a DUI-type offense when they are behind the wheel is much lower. If your child has been charged with driving under the influence or driving after illegally consuming alcohol, you should speak to an attorney immediately.
I am Andrew J. Cornick, Attorney at Law, and I have counseled numerous families whose children and young adults were facing these charges and have diligently worked to secure reduced penalties and dismissals on their behalf. As a former prosecutor, I'm well-versed in the considerations a young accused person can receive in Virginia and how to compellingly argue for the most favorable outcome possible.
If your child's been accused of DUI, then time is of the essence. Call my firm today to start exploring your legal options.
What Are the Penalties for Underage DUI in Virginia?
For drivers 21 and older, the blood alcohol limit is .08. For younger drivers, however, this BAC limit is much lower. A driver under 21 can be arrested if their BAC level is found to be .02 or higher. Underage DUI/DWI is considered a Class 1 misdemeanor in Virginia.
Penalties for underage DUI/DWI in Virginia can include:
- Maximum fine of $2,500 (minimum: $500)
- Up to one year in jail
- Minimum administrative license suspension of seven days
- Minimum of 50 hours of community service
Please note that additional (and harsher) penalties are possible with repeat offenses. If your child has been charged, I invite you to contact me today. I know how to evaluate DUI cases and know when a dismissal is called for. No matter what the circumstances of your child's arrest were, I can protect that their rights and interests.
Take a proactive step in securing a favorable result for your child and use this online form to request a free case evaluation with me today.