Multiple DUI Charges in Virginia
What Are the Penalties for Multiple DUIs in Virginia?
In order to deter would-be offenders and protect citizens from drivers they see as a threat to the community, the Commonwealth of Virginia provides a hierarchy of penalties for those convicted of multiple DUIs. These penalties become more and more serious with each offense the driver is convicted of.
Penalties for repeat DUI offenses in Virginia are steep, and in some cases can include:
- Second offense: Mandatory, minimum $500 fine/three-year license suspension/10-20 days in jail
- Third offense: Mandatory, minimum $1,000 fine/indefinite license suspension/90 days in jail, in some cases on a felony conviction
- Fourth offense: Mandatory, minimum $1,000 fine/indefinite license suspension/one year in jail, in some cases on a felony conviction
Please note that these penalties may change depending on the interval between your DUI convictions. All Virginia drivers convicted of a DUI offense will also be required to use an Ignition Interlock Device (IID) and may face other penalties, such as vehicle seizure. That is why it is so crucial that you confront these allegations with a proven legal advocate by your side.
Speak With Our Skilled Multiple DUI Firm Today
Like most other criminal cases, DUI penalties can become more serious when the court determines that the defendant has prior convictions. If you have been charged with your second or subsequent DUI charge, then the time to start exploring your defense options is now. Those thought to represent a repeated danger to our roads and communities are exposed to serious consequences that could significantly interrupt their lives.
I am Andrew J. Cornick, Attorney at Law, and I understand what the stakes are in these multiple (or repeat) DUI cases and how to best prepare and defend my clients. As a former prosecutor, I'm well-versed in sciences and protocols that go into policing these crimes and how to best counter the Commonwealth's efforts both in and outside the courtroom.